WRITTEN STATEMENT OF A NON-KEY DECISION

CABINET

| ITEM: | LOCAL AREA FORUMS | |
|---------------------------|--|--|
| Members Present: | Councillors RJ Phillips (Chairman), Mrs O Barnett, P Edwards, Mrs J French, GV Hyde, C Mayson, DW Rule, R Stockton, B Wilcox, M Wilson | |
| Date of Decision: | 23rd October, 2003 | |
| Purpose: | To consider the future of Local Area Forums and agree how the Local Area Forums should progress as a community consultation mechanism. | |
| Decision: | THAT (a) the proposals contained in the report be agreed as a framework for development; (subject to the Northwest Forum being renamed Central Herefordshire; Local Area Forum Chairmen to be appointed by Group Leaders; and the special responsibility allowance for Chairmen of Local Area Forums being discontinued); (b) further consultation on the details of the proposals is undertaken with groups listed under "consultates"; | |
| | under "consultees"; and | |
| | (e) subject to the outcome of the consultation, necessary amendments to the Constitution be drafted by the County Secretary and Solicitor, for recommendation to Council for approval. | |
| Reasons for the Decision: | 1. In August 2002, a paper outlining the progress of Local Area Forums since their inception in 1999 was taken to Cabinet. It outlined a number of areas for development under the current arrangements. Cabinet decided that a full-scale review be undertaken. | |
| | 2. Consultation was undertaken with a number of groups connected to the Local Area Forums in order to establish a baseline against which to measure future developments and gain information on the key areas of future development. | |
| | 3. The findings of the consultation have been used to formulate the following considerations. | |
| Options Considered: | Alternative proposals can be drawn up at the request of Cabinet | |
| Declaration of Interest: | None. | |

COUNTY OF HEREFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL Reference No: 2003.CAB.066

| RJ PHILLIPS: | Date [.] |
|-----------------------|-------------------|
| | |
| LEADER OF THE COUNCIL | |
| | |